Skip Navigation LinksHome > Awards
  • LinkedIn
  • Google
  • Delicious
  • Digg
  • Add to Favorites



Honoring the Best in Design-Build

Design-build continues to deliver some of the nation’s most impressive projects by bringing together highly collaborative teams which solve the unsolvable and harness the power of innovation and creativity that are the hallmarks of great design-build projects.

DBIA is proud to celebrate the teams and projects that demonstrate how Design-Build Done Right delivers on projects large and small, across all sectors and across the​ nation.Awards are given annually, and we encourage you to submit a project – or an individual – for recognition. Project owners and/or team members need not be members of DBIA to be considered, nor is membership a requirement for Leadership Award nominees.​ Divider-Awards-Star

How to Enter

The deadline is May 23, 2018.


1. The first step to enter the 2018 Design-Build Awards Competition is to share your project to the database. Share a Project »

2. Once accepted, that data merges into your Awards Entry. A few more questions will complete your Awards submission process. Submit Award Entry »

Get more details here:

Awards FAQ  
Submission Details  

Project/Team Awards

DBIA awards the following national honors each year:

Design-Build Merit Awards

Merit award winners successfully utilized Design-Build Done Right™ principles to deliver highly successful projects that achieved best value while meeting design and construction quality, cost and schedule goals. Entry categories are:​​​




Commercial Buildings

Educational Facilities​​


Healthcare Facilities

Industrial/Process/Research Facilities

Office Buildings


Transportation (other than Aviation)


Design-Build Awards of Excellence

All Merit Award winners then go on to compete to win the best in category and the Design-Build Award of Excellence.

Special Recognitions

DBIA Merit Award winners are also judged on their skills in performing several key components to the successful delivery of Design-Build Done Right™

Excellence in Teaming

Excellence in Design

Excellence in Process

Project of the Year

DBIA’s Project of the year is chosen as the best of the best because it embraces all aspects of Design-Build Done Right – exceling in teaming, design, and process – while far exceeding the basic requirements of DBIA awards submissions. All DBIA award winners compete for the Project of the Year.

2017 Project of the Year
University of California, Irvine - Mesa Court Student Housing Expansion​

Leadership Awards

DBIA’s Distinguished Design-Build Leadership Award are presented to individuals who have demonstrated leadership in the advancement of effective design-build practices and in the promotion of design-build as a project delivery method of choice.

The Design-Build in Transportation Leadership Awards are given each year to agencies and individuals that have advanced the use of design-build in the transportation sector. Winners are selected by DBIA’s Transportation Committee from nominations from across the industry and are honored at DBIA’s annual Design-Build in Transportation Conference each spring.

The Brunelleschi Lifetime Achievement Award is the highest honor DBIA bestows. It is presented to an individual who has made significant contributions to the design and construction industry through outstanding leadership and the advancement of integrated design-build project delivery.